The Nevada SHSP Awards recognize individuals and organizations who have made significant contributions over the last year to transportation safety in Nevada. The program recognizes accomplishments in the public and private sector by individuals, state and local governments, federal agencies, businesses and non-profit organizations that promote traffic safety. This program is sponsored by the Nevada Department of Transportation (NDOT), the Nevada Department of Public Safety (DPS), and other traffic safety partners that are dedicated to reducing death and injury on Nevada’s roadways.

The SHSP Awards will be presented annually at the Nevada Traffic Safety Summit. As the summit location rotates between Northern and Southern Nevada each year, the SHSP Awards will go to individuals or organizations from that region. Everything from Tonopah to the south will be awarded at the 2018 Summit in Southern Nevada.


There are eight award categories listed below. Those eligible for nomination have made an outstanding effort to eliminate serious injury and fatal crashes on Nevada roadways by furthering traffic safety initiatives through engineering, enforcement, education, emergency management, and/or advocacy. The Nevada SHSP Awards Committee will select the award recipients.