Take a stand and sign the pledge to commit to driving safe and sober on Nevada roadways.  Sign the Pledge


2023 Nevada Traffic Safety Awards

The Nevada Traffic Safety Awards Program

The Nevada Traffic Safety Awards recognize individuals and organizations who have made significant contributions over the past year to transportation safety in Nevada. The program recognizes accomplishments in the public and private sector by individuals, state and local governments, federal agencies, businesses, and non-profit organizations that promote traffic safety. This program is sponsored by the Nevada Department of Transportation (NDOT), the Nevada Department of Public Safety (DPS), and other traffic safety partners that are dedicated to reducing death and injury on Nevada’s roadways.

The Nevada Traffic Safety Awards are presented annually at the Nevada Traffic Safety Summit. As the summit location rotates between Northern and Southern Nevada each year, the Traffic Safety Awards are granted to individuals or organizations from that region. The 2023 Nevada Traffic Safety Summit is in Southern Nevada. Awards will be presented to recipients south of Tonopah during the Awards Breakfast Ceremony on Thursday, September 14.

Criteria for Selection

There are eight award categories. Those eligible for nomination have made an outstanding effort to eliminate serious injury and fatal crashes on Nevada roadways by furthering traffic safety initiatives through engineering, enforcement, education, emergency management, and/or advocacy. The awardees will be selected by the Awards Committee.


2023 Nevada Traffic Safety Award Recipients

Enforcement Officer of the Year

Travis Perkins, Nevada Highway Patrol

 Education and Behavioral Implementer of the Year

Keith Habig, Clark County School District Police Department

Traffic Records Implementer of the Year

Laura Gryder, University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Humanitarian of the Year

Erin Breen, Transportation Research Center Road Equity
Alliance Project

Program of the Year

Las Vegas Vision Zero

Project of the Year

Wadsworth Walking Trail, NDOT and Pyramid Lake Paiute Tribe

Transportation Professional of the Year

Shashi Nambisan, University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Impact Award

Mike Thiele, Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department

 Legacy Award

Paul McCullough, Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department

Leadership Award

David Ranson, Storey County Sheriff’s Office