SHSP Awards

SHSP Award Nomination

The Program

The Nevada Strategic Highway Safety Plan (SHSP) Awards recognize individuals and organizations who have made significant contributions over the past year to transportation safety in Nevada. The program recognizes accomplishments in the public and private sectors by individuals, state and local governments, federal agencies, businesses, and non-profit organizations that promote traffic safety. This program is sponsored by the Nevada Department of Transportation (NDOT), the Nevada Department of Public Safety (DPS), and other traffic safety partners that are dedicated to reducing death and injury on Nevada’s roadways. The SHSP Awards are traditionally presented at the Nevada Traffic Safety Summit. With the Nevada Traffic Safety Summit going virtual in December 2020, the awards will be formally presented at a future in-person event in 2021. (Nominations are due November 30, 2020.)

Criteria for Selection

There are eight award categories listed below. The Nevada SHSP Awards Committee will select the award recipients. Those eligible for nomination have made an outstanding effort to eliminate serious injury and fatal crashes on Nevada roadways by furthering traffic safety initiatives through engineering, enforcement, education, emergency management, and/or advocacy.


Award Recipients Announcement Coming Soon